FTW: Portrait of Ruin

It’s been a good long while since I’ve played a Castlevania game, but boy did it feel good to be back home.

Nothing too special in terms of the gameplay (if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!) that Symphony of the Night mastered so well, but some neat additions such as being able to switch characters at will really brought the game into its own and lowered the Konami-is-milking-the-franchise complaints I had brewing in my head the first few minutes into the game.

Maybe something is wrong with me, but I feel nostalgic and a little more at peace every time I see a floating medusa head, and it just feels right.

Leave a Reply

